Human Traffic Watch

Hotel soaps used to combat human trafficking

In Child Sex Trafficking, Forced Prostitution, Human Trafficking, Sex Trafficking on March 22, 2013 at 12:44 pm

It looks like an assembly line for party favors. A group of women standing around a table, stuffing plastic gift bags with bars of soap.

The women are volunteers with the group S.O.A.P or Save Our Adolescents from Prostitution. Their gathering this weekend in Louisville was part of an outreach program to deliver bars of soap to Louisville area hotels and motels. The bars are wrapped with labels with a 1-800 phone number to the National Human Trafficking Hotline.

“And this is the opportunity to get them the hotline and to really get them help,” said Toshia Kimbler, a spokeswoman for the group.

Toshia Kimbler knows the circumstances all too well. She was trapped in the same world of sex trafficking years ago.

“I’m traveling around the country with the SOAP project because when I was 16, there was nobody that I could call and talk to and reach out for help,” Kimbler said.  “I was trafficked at the young age of 16 and I’ve been free for many years now. I don’t know what they said that sold me on this idea but before I knew it, I was being sold on Craigslist.”

Source: WDRB

Leave a Reply

