Human Traffic Watch

Brooke Elise Axtell: Artist, songwriter, poet and survivor Read more: Brooke Elise Axtell: Artist, songwriter, poet and survivor | Washington Times Communities Follow us: @wtcommunities on Twitter

In Child Sex Trafficking, Forced Prostitution, Human Trafficking, Sex Trafficking on October 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm

How did you become an advocate for women, survivors of abuse, violence, incest and more? Can you tell me your personal story, just a few facts that you are comfortable with?

Brooke:  I was sexually assaulted and forced into sex-trafficking in Dallas, Texas at the age of 7. The perpetrator was a male nanny who was responsible for my care at that time. As a result of the tremendous fear and shame I experienced, I did not feel free to disclose my abuse until many years later.

Through writing and activism, I found a healing path, a way to honor my experience and encourage other survivors. As I started to share my story and reach out for help, I met women engaged in the recovery process who did not see their own worth and creative power. This awakened my fierce desire to fight for them, to remind them how valuable they are. Eventually, I came to a point where I realized that I had to embody in my own life what I wanted for all the women I loved.

Contributing my essay “What I Know of Silence” to “Dancing at The Shame Prom” is the next step in my healing path. It is the first time I have shared my story in a public space.

When we bring every trace of shame into the light, we become fearless and free.

My passion is encouraging other survivors in the process of creative recovery, helping women find ways to transform their pain into healing power. The arts provide essential medicine for the wounded soul.

Artistic expression invites us to gives voice to the silenced places. For me, it is the beginning of wholeness, where I learned to dance with the shadow and no longer live in fear.

Read more: Brooke Elise Axtell: Artist, songwriter, poet and survivor | Washington Times Communities

Follow us: @wtcommunities on Twitter

Leave a Reply

