Human Traffic Watch

Sold by Patricia McCormick

In Awareness, Child Sex Trafficking, Human Trafficking, Sex Trafficking on September 27, 2012 at 3:15 pm

 

I’m wiping the makeup off my face when the dark-skinned
girl comes in.
“What do you think you’re doing?” she says.

“I’m going home.”

Her tear-shaped eyes grow dark.

“There is a mistake,” I tell her. “I’m here to work as a maid for
a rich lady.”

“Is that what you were told?”

Then Mumtaz arrives at the door, huffing, her mango face
pink with anger.

“What do you think you’re doing?” she says.

“Leaving,” I say. “I’m going home.”

Mumtaz laughs. “Home?” she says. “And how would you get
there?”

I don’t know.

“Do you know the way home?” she says.
“Do you have money for the train?
Do you speak the language here?
Do you even have any idea where you are?”

My heart is pounding like the drumming of a monsoon rain,
and my shoulders are shaking as if I had a great chill.

“You ignorant hill girl,” she says.
“You don’t know anything. Do you?”

I wrap my arms around myself and grip with all my might.
But the trembling will not stop.

“Well, then,” Mumtaz says, pulling her record book out from
her waistcloth.
“Let me explain it to you.”

“You belong to me,” she says. “And I paid a pretty sum for
you, too.”
She opens to a page in her book and points to the notation
for 10,000 rupees.

“You will take men to your room,” she says. “And do whatever
they ask of you. You will work here, like the other girls, until
your debt is paid off.”

Leave a Reply

