Human Traffic Watch

Frocks for Freedom fights sex trafficking

In Awareness, Human Trafficking on October 6, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Giving back— Contributors donated clothing items to be sold at the event to support the fight against sex trafficking. Photo credit: Ruth Bibby

“It’s just been such a cool thing to watch evolve over the last three years and see what God’s done with it,” event organizer Johanna Calfee said. “Every year it’s bigger. Every year, more people come. Every year, we have better things to sell. So we are really grateful for an opportunity to do something that is much bigger than clothes, that can impact something that is close to the heart of God.”

According to Calfee, this event is the result of the selfless contributions of donors and friends, along with the inspiration she felt after returning from her first mission trip to Thailand three years ago.

“I got back and I felt helpless to do anything here on our own turf,” Calfee said. “I was standing in my closet one day, and I literally felt like I was given inspiration to do this. I remember looking through the racks and thinking, ‘I have so many clothes that I am not wearing. They are in great condition, and I bet a lot of my friends do too. If I asked them to clean out their closets, what would happen?’”

Source: Liberty Champion

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,191 other followers

